Interview With Angela Staples, Northside Minneapolis Bicycle Rider

6 Nov

I interviewed Angela Staples, a resident of North Minneapolis and a member of the Major Taylor of Minnesota Bicycle Club.  Angela has some interesting comments about how she started biking and why…

Angela Staples, Registered Dietitian, working at a local health clinic.

When did you begin riding a bicycle and why?

I have been riding a bike since I was very little.  My first bike was a pink and purple Huffy!  I learned how to ride without my training wheels after being repeatedly pushed down a small hill at the park until I just figured it out. Loved that bike. And rode it up and down the street daily.  I used to ride to high school and sports practices on my bike because I had a license, but no car.

What motivated you to learn to ride a bicycle if you began riding when you were an adult?

I already knew how to ride a bike, but I decided to get more serious about it an invested in a road bike in 2008.  I set some new life goals that year and one was to participate and complete a long ride.  I trained and completed my first 2 day fundraising ride by biking over 100 miles.

How often do you ride?

I ride 2-6 days per week in the summer.  In the off-season, you can find me spinning indoors.

When do you ride your bicycle? 

Usually at first sight of clear paths/roads and at least 50 degree weather.  I ride more regularly in the summer.

Do you ride in the winter?

No.

Why do you ride a bicycle?

I ride for exercise, because it’s a great way to really put away miles and not feel like my joints are in pain.  I ride because it is very healing for my old injuries and keeps my muscles strong.  I also ride because it is peaceful to be out in the community and nature.

Where do you ride your bicycle?

Mostly in Minneapolis on the trail system, the farmers markets around the city, Twins games, and to community events.

What comments do you here from other people if any when they see you riding a bicycle?

They usually are shout nice words of encouragement.  Often times women ask me if my butt gets sore when riding. Also, people are interested in how much a bike costs and what accessories are important to get.

Do culture and/or faith decide whether you ride a bike? Is it considered culturally appropriate for women to ride a bicycle?

No, culture and/or faith do not play into why I ride a bike.  I think its more and more common now to see females biking, but it seems more rare to see an African-American female biking.

Do women in your community receive criticism for riding a bicycle?

No, I don’t think so.

Do women in your home country ride bicycles?

Yes, I am from USA.

Leave a comment

Jamila Minnicks

Lawyer-turned-lioness telling the tales

Patti Kameya

Words, Art, and History.

Jamila Minnicks

Lawyer-turned-lioness telling the tales